Errazuriz sweeps Decanter 2016 Awards

Errazuriz sweeps Decanter 2016 Awards

In the last few years, Errázuriz has been recognized as perhaps the single top quality producer of Chilean wines, if not of the New World. Cast your memory back to the 23rd of January 2004, the ‘Berlin Tasting’ where thirty-six of Europe’s most highly regarded wine experts met in Berlin to blind-taste sixteen wines, including Châteaux Lafite Rothschild, Margaux, Latour and Italian cult wines including Tignanello, Sassicaia, Solaia and Guado al Tasso.

First and Second placings were awarded to Errázuriz Viñedo Chadwick 2000 and Seña 2001 (born from the partnership-wine between Viña Errázuriz and Robert Mondavi of California) with the 2000 vintage of Château Lafite Rothschild coming in third.

Today, we are delighted to offer an extraordinary range of wines, which have just swept the boards at the world's largest and most influential wine competition, the 2016 Decanter World Wine Awards – The quality of the wine compared to their respective costs is simply staggering and you would be daft to miss out on these superb wines...

Decanter World Wine Awards

(DWWA) is an international wine competition established and managed by Britain’s Decanter magazine. Each year, many hundreds of wines are submitted for review by the DWWA, all of which must undergo a preliminary assessment before they are put forward to the official stages. The wines are judged by multiple panels, each chaired by a regional or category specialist. The judging team, of hundreds, is picked from a broad spectrum of disciplines including winemakers, retailers and wine writers. All wines in the competition are blind-tasted by judges in a significant operation, involving behind-the-scenes support from Decanter’s in-house tasting team and dozens of so-called ‘red shirts’, who are responsible for providing the wines and monitoring the process.

New for 2016 - Platinum Medals

How it works: Gold medal wines are put forward to compete for Platinum medals against others from the same region or style. The Platinum winners will then go on to a special tasting to decide which wines should be awarded Platinum ‘best in show’ status which would previously have been called the 'international trophies.'

  • Gold Medal: 95-100 Points 'Outstanding and Exceptional' wines
  • Silver Medal: 90-94 Points 'Highly Recommended' wines
  • Bronze Medal: 86-89 Points 'Recommended' wines
  • Commended Medal: 83-85 Points 'Commended' wines.

Our Errazuriz award winners